Amazing Pancakes

So I’ve gone through several phases of pancakes in my life. For a while I was on a mission to have my kids eat really healthy so I would whip up the pancake recipe below. I usually made of the dry ingredients and put them in bags or containers so I could dump them in a bowl and add the wet ones quickly in the morning.

MULTIGRAIN PANCAKES

    • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
    • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
    • 1/4 cup quick cooking oats
    • 2 tbsp yellow cornmeal
    • 2 tbsp brown sugar
    • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
    • 1/2 tsp salt
    • 1 cup skim milk (try skim plus)
    • 1/4 cup plain fat free yogurt (try vanilla)
    • 1 tbsp canola oil
    • 1 large egg, lightly beaten

Combine all dry ingredients in one bowl, and all wet ingredients in another. Add wet to dry, stirring until smooth. Spoon about 1/4 cup batter onto a hot, non-stick griddle or skillet. Turn pancakes when tops are covered with bubbles and edges look cooked. These pancakes are especially delicious when topped with light vanilla yogurt and mixed berries.

Well…. then the kids went to grandma’s house and had Bisquick. They kept saying my pancakes didn’t taste great. So I just pulled out the BHG (Better Homes and Garden) Cookbook and made their buttermilk pancakes, adding chocolate chips of course.

Then I ran into a blog called A Farm Girl Dabbles. I have made several of her recipes and ALL of them are wonderful. So last week I started making these pancakes and my kids are absolutely in love with them. So here is the link to the recipe. ENJOY!!

One thought on “Amazing Pancakes

  1. Pingback: Grilled Lemon Pepper Chicken Kebobs | Ample Perspectives

Leave a Reply

