Dinner Tonight

My husband has been out of town and although my kids would love mac n’ cheese and chicken nuggets every night for dinner…. I don’t! I enjoy cooking but I will say with the kids running around and all responsibility on my shoulders, it is a lot less enjoyable.

Italian Chicken Sausage with White Bean Soup

Italian Chicken Sausage with White Bean Soup

I decided to give another Farm Girl Dabbles recipe a try. This time it was Italian Chicken Sausage with White Bean Soup. I’m not sure about you but I always forget ingredients or don’t feel like spending the money to get exactly what is needed so I make it up as I go. To start I used pork sausage instead of chicken sausage and I didn’t have bay leaves so I left them out. I also didn’t have fresh parsley so I just made do with dry. I think it turned out well. I’ve been making my own broth and freezing it. After we roast a whole chicken and carve it, I throw the remains in the crockpot with carrots, celery, onion, garlic, and water and let it cook overnight and then freeze it to use in soups. The soup turned out great but my picture isn’t as beautiful as hers.

I also made some homemade rolls. They are my absolute favorite. The don’t take a ton of time and I almost always have the ingredients on hand, unless I run out of yeast.

Dinner Rolls

Dinner Rolls

Dinner Rolls

  • 1 1/8 warm water
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 3 tsp yeast, dry active
  • 1 T sugar
  • 1 T oil- canola
  • 1/4 flour

Let sit until bubbly. Add flour until dough is smooth and elastic. Let rise. Divide into 16 parts. Form rolls into pan. Bake in greased pan, brush with butter. Bake at 375 for 20-25 min.

Happy Cooking!

One thought on “Dinner Tonight

  1. Pingback: Grilled Lemon Pepper Chicken Kebobs | Ample Perspectives

Leave a Reply

