Herb Chicken with Honey Butter

It’s no surprise I like to cook. Although, not as much as I used to but mostly because that involves trying to think while the kids are usually losing it! I do try to keep things simple though. So, here is what was for dinner tonight.

Herb Chicken with Honey Butter

YIELD 4 servings
ACTIVE TIME 25 minutes
TOTAL TIME 25 minutes

INGREDIENTS

    • •1 egg, lightly beaten
    • •3/4 cup seasoned bread crumbs
    • •2 tablespoons dried parsley flakes
    • •1 teaspoon Italian seasoning
    • •3/4 teaspoon garlic salt
    • •1/2 teaspoon poultry seasoning
    • •4 boneless skinless chicken breast halves (6 ounces each)
    • •3 tablespoons butter
  • HONEY BUTTER

    • •1/4 cup butter, softened
    • •1/4 cup honey

INSTRUCTIONS

    1. •Place egg in a shallow bowl. In another shallow bowl, combine the bread crumbs and seasonings. Dip chicken in egg, then coat with bread crumb mixture.
    2. • In a large skillet over medium heat, cook chicken in butter for 4-5 minutes on each side or until a meat thermometer reads 170°. Meanwhile, combine butter and honey. Serve with chicken

So this is from Taste of Home or so the recipe in the computer says. I organize my recipes online but will write more about that another time. When cooking chicken in a pan I don’t feel like it cooks very well. I either end up cooking it until its crazy dry, burning it, or it’s raw. So when they want to cook it in a pan I either pound it super flat or cut it into smaller strips. For this I chose smaller strips.

IMG_2501 2

I didn’t take a picture of all the strips. I buy chicken while it’s on sale. My price point for boneless skinless is $1.99 or less a pound. I shop at Faraway and they have a meat counter where you can get things packaged how you like and usually I have them put one set of breasts in each package. They end up around a pound and that’s what I used for the recipe.

IMG_2499 2

I didn’t have regular bread crumbs so I use panko bread crumbs which are slightly larger and crunchier. I have made my own bread crumbs before in a pinch by simply pulsing a piece of bread or two in the food processor.

IMG_2500 2

The key to making the chicken not stick to the pan is getting the pan hot enough. I have learned where I need to set my burner and usually wait until the butter or oil is hot and I can swirl it easily in the pan. Once the chicken is in the pan I try not to mess with it until it’s time to flip it.

IMG_2502 2

It actually turned out nice and golden brown. As I cooked it longer the bits did start to burn in the pan but not a ton.

IMG_2504

The honey butter was super simple. Just equal parts honey and melted butter. It was oh so tasty drizzled on the chicken, but who can go wrong with honey and butter?

IMG_2503 2

I served the chicken with steamed broccoli. I have this steamer insert that I put in one of my pots. So that was dinner tonight. Pretty simple and tasty. I realized we don’t eat much. We try to focus on vegetables and protein but I do sometimes make rice, potatoes, or pasta as a side as well. I hope you like this recipe.

 

One thought on “Herb Chicken with Honey Butter

Leave a Reply

