The Gospel

Yesterday I challenged each of you to try and write out The Gospel and I told you today I would post what I thought.  These are not the only scripture to share nor is this the “right” way to do it. In a class I recently took at church called “Living the Life” we covered the topic of witnessing. The pastor broke The Gospel down to one word: Christ. He also gave us a short sentence to sum up The Gospel: “The Gospel is the amazingly good news and work of grace that Jesus Christ, fully God and as fully man, lived a sinless life and dies a sinless death for our sins and rose again to life, forever defeating sin, death and Satan so that those who believe through faith may be saved by grace and are forever at peace with God.”
I have a desire to attend the Spread the Truth Ministries trip to New York City. We wanted to go last year but there weren’t enough people signed up from our church and we didn’t want to just go out there alone. Anyway, we would still like to go this coming year is possible. Right now my bigger fear is the plane ride rather than sharing The Gospel. Maybe I will change my mind when I get there but here is my thought. If I go and share The Gospel, I will mess it up and I will fail. BUT then a few minutes later I get to try again and again and hopefully by the end of the week I’ve practiced it so much that I truly understand it and how to share it with others.
So although this may change with time this is how I would currently would explain it to someone.

Romans 3:23 “For all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.”

All of us are sinners, whether its murder, gossip, adultery, false idols, etc. None of us is good enough. In society we tend to think that there are some sins that are better then others or maybe more acceptable sins like gossip or white lies but it’s all seen the same in God’s eyes.

Romans 6:23 “For wages of sin is death…..”

As sinners we are given death as a consequence for sinning.

Romans 6:23 “BUT the FREE gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.” (Emphasis added)

God offers another way. There is nothing we can do to earn our way to heaven. We can NEVER be good enough, do enough, pray enough or serve enough. The way to eternal life is Jesus.

Romans 10:9 “because, if you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved”

In order to have eternal life (go to heaven), we must first admit that we are sinners and in need of Jesus as our Savior. We must profess our faith to Him.

Romans 5:1 “Since we have been justified by faith, we have peace with God though our Lord Jesus Christ.”

Once we accept him and believe, the holy spirit enters our hearts and we have peace with God.

Romans 8:1 “There is no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus”

Those who truly believe in Jesus as their savior will not go to hell.

Romans 8: 38-39 “For I am sure that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor rulers, nor things present, nor things to come, nor powers, nor heights, nor depths, nor anything else in all creation will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

Nothing can separate us from God. He loves us and cares for us and wants us to have a personal relationship with him.

Will you share with me what you wrote? Share

Leave a Reply

