Value

What do you value? I catch myself saying “I don’t have time,” or “I don’t have money.” I think what I really mean to say is that isn’t a priority or that isn’t of value for me. Stay with me here and I’m going to try and explain. I’ve always been know as the cheap skate in my family. I would hoard money! I would save every dime so much so that even if I really wanted something I wouldn’t spend the money and would regret it later. The bible talks a fair bit about money.

10 For the love of money is a root of all kinds of evils. It is through this craving that some have wandered away from the faith and pierced themselves with many pangs. 1 Timothy 6:10

13 No servant can serve two masters, for either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve God and money.” Luke 16:13

Keep your life free from love of money, and be content with what you have, for he has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.” Hebrews 13:5

I think I view people who just spend, spend, spend as being unwise or sinful, but I can be sinful with money if i have an attitude of wanting to hoard it too. If every time someone mentions something to me and I say “Oh, it was a deal I got,” or “I got it at goodwill,” then my heart isn’t in the right place. It’s not to say that I can’t get excited about a deal but if that is my response EVERY time or even a majority of the time, then there is a problem.

My heart is one that is so scared to lose my money that my attitude toward it has become very unhealthy. I have made improvements over the years. I used to buy the cheapest of everything or look for the best deal, but I wasn’t always getting the best value. I would and still sometimes do think “I can’t believe they bought that,” or “where did they get the money for that?” It really doesn’t matter what the reason is that someone made a purchase. We all have our priorities and they are all different and that is perfectly ok. My husband and I spend a lot of money on our home. We like to live comfortably. Some like to spend it on travel, others on cars. When we buy things we are placing a value on it.

For instance, today at the grocery store it was well worth the $2 extra so that he could wrap my beef in 1 pound bundles instead of me doing it at home. Usually I would do it myself but there was just too much going on for me to want to mess with it. My husband is great about pointing out that sometimes my efforts to save money cost me in other areas. Say I don’t want to pay to ship something, but if I calculate gas to get there it’s far more, unless we were planning to go anyway. Some  people may spend $5 a day on a Starbucks for about 20 days out of the month. That’s $100. Maybe that $100 is worth their sanity or the break they get from going to get it. Or maybe someone spends $100 on a pair of shoes that you could get for $20 at Walmart. I used to go buy the “cheap” version and found out I didn’t get much use out of it. Sometimes “cheap” doesn’t last as long. Somethings I’m willing to buy cheap and others I’m not. I have learned that once I get a taste of something really awesome suddenly my frugal choice is not worth it 😉

Anyway, I’m not sure I really answered any questions. I’m more just thinking out loud and reflecting on my view of money. What are your thoughts? I’d love to hear your comments.

One thought on “Value

  1. Pingback: It’s all relative…. | Ample Perspectives

Leave a Reply

