Southwest Gyros

So with starting a new business and with the weather I’m looking for quick, easy, delicious meals. I think this one fits that bill. Southwest Gyros by Taste of Home.

I started out with with 93/7 lean ground beef and a chopped green pepper. You could use turkey too. I always buy beef when it goes on sale. I stock up for $3.99 a pound for this lean meat.

IMG_3001

Once is browned and you drain it. I add a can of rinsed pinto beans, a can of fire roasted tomatoes, some water, cumin, chili powder and garlic powder.

IMG_3002

I mix up a some mayo with Italian dressing seasoning and we serve them on a pita with spinach and shredded cheddar.

IMG_3003

The kids really enjoy them. I do prefer them on a larger whole wheat pita but this was good too. I steamed some brussel sprouts up as well so we have an extra serving of veggies.

IMG_3004

ENJOY!

Jessica

Leave a Reply

