Second Guessing

Do you ever second guess your decisions? Did I choose the right profession? Were we wise to buy that house or car? Are my kids missing out because I homeschool? Am I doing enough? Is God for real? There are so many times I stop and wonder if I handled a situation correctly or made the right decision, but worry doesn’t help anyone. “And which of you by being anxious can add a single hour to his span of life?” Matt 6:27

Of course as I have mentioned before I’m a worrier. I have made great improvements but I worry about well…. everything! What I am learning though is that everyone doubts at some point in their life. Some more then others. In the end even pastors sometimes wonder if their faith is genuine and if they have it right. In talking with people that have businesses they wondered if they should have even started them. I spoke to someone making well into six figures and he said that there were many times that he wanted to quit and didn’t think he could do it but he kept on the path and that put him where he was today.

Some doubt is normal. Some doubt is just fear. Much doubt we need to persevere through. Don’t get me wrong. Some doubt is definitely meant to make us change course but I think a lot of it Satan just wants to get in our head and move us away from God in any way he can. He wants to catch us and make us mess up or catch us at a weak point. So what can we do? My husband pointed out that sometimes he reads books and they identify problems but never give solutions so what is the solution to doubt? I would say to reground yourself in truth. “Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.” Philippians 4:8

 

Leave a Reply

