Struggle and Comfort

Oh I wish I could look back and say life has been easy and things have gone smoothly. Life has not always been easy and it continues to not always be easy as you can see here. It seems like there has always been something going on. I look at some people and just think man they have it so easy. What do they struggle with? What have been their hardships? Now I realize that there is probably a lot I don’t know and that maybe they have had more struggles then they have shared or maybe they just handled them better than I have.

Well, after feeling sorry for myself for a bit a thought came to my mind. Someone said to me it’s ok to be uncomfortable, when you are too comfortable you aren’t growing. Now although this was in reference to something in the business world, I felt that it applied to my life. When things are going smoothly and there are no hiccups, I simply just coast. When there is struggle or hardship I am forced to deal with things. I am forced to make decisions I never thought I would have make. Sometimes I’m forced to stand up for myself which I’m not good at. Most of all I’m forced to step back from the needs of others and really evaluate what is best for me and my family. It is also a time that I tend to draw near to the Lord and read scripture. I ask the tough questions during these tough times.

As I look back over my life I realize that each of the things that has happened to me has shaped me to be who I am today. Without them I would be a very different person. I’m reading the book The Compound Effect by Darren Hardy. He talks in the first chapter about how making even a small change daily has a real impact on your life but that we don’t always notice them right away. It may take years and it may seem like everyone else is passing us up. The small changes do matter and so do all the events that have shaped me no matter how unpleasant they are.

Jessica

Leave a Reply

