Asparagus Soup

So a women my husband works with made Asparagus Soup and brought it to work and she had my husband try it and since he said it was good she sent me the recipe. So I thought I would give it a try. The recipe comes from a blogger Once Upon a Chef. When we first served up dinner my middle daughter was complaining and she hadn’t even tried it. Well, she LOVED it! She thought it was awesome. All the kids ate it.

First you start out with some butter and onions. She said to sauté the garlic with it but I like to add it a little later so it doesn’t get over cooked.

IMG_3450

Then I added the garlic and let it sauté for a bit and then I began adding the other ingredients. I added the asparagus.

IMG_3452

Then here I added in the chicken broth and let it come to a boil and then covered it and let it simmer for 30 minutes.

IMG_3453

When it was all good and cooked I pulled out my immersion blender and used it to puree my soup. She said you could strain out the thicker parts but I felt like the stick blender did a fine job and made a nice soup.

IMG_3455

I then cooked the asparagus tips for a few minutes and then immediately put them in ice cold water and then added them to the soup. Top the soup with some fresh grated cheese and it’s done. I had some special cheese left from something but I couldn’t tell you what kind at the moment so we just added that. It was a great dinner and not too hard to make and pretty good for you which is always a plus!

IMG_3456

Jessica

Leave a Reply

