Dinner Rolls

So I had a boyfriend in high school whose mom made fresh rolls very often for dinner and I just LOVED them. We dated for four year, two year in high school and two in college, and then broke up but I asked her to write down the recipe for me. I make these often for dinner. They take a couple hours with rising but I did it in just over an hour today because I rushed along the process.

IMG_3457

Dinner Rolls

  • 1 1/8 warm water
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 3 tsp yeast, dry active
  • 1 T sugar
  • 1 T oil- canola
  • 1/4 flour
  1. Let sit until bubbly. Add flour until dough is smooth and elastic. Let rise. Divide into 16 parts. Form rolls into pan. Bake in greased pan, brush with butter bake 375 for 20-25 min.

IMG_3449

Here is what it looks like when it’s bubbly. Usually it should sit about 10 minutes but I was pressed for time.

IMG_3451

Here is what the dough looks like before it is ready to rise. She doesn’t specify how much flour but I add until it’s smooth and elastic and not too sticky.

IMG_3454

Here is what it looks like after it rose. I only had about 30 minutes to let it rise but usually I would do 45 minutes -1 hour.

You saw the finished rolls at the top. I use a glass pie dish to bake them in and spray it with olive oil cooking spray before hand. These are pretty simple and go well with soup.

Enjoy!

Jessica

Leave a Reply

