Do your values and actions align?

rope-bridge-417184_1920

I love when areas of life cross over into each other. It seems like as I develop in one area it spills over to another and that is so cool! The other night I was reading a book for business development. The point of the chapter was finding your motivation or your why? So I started to think about why I do my business and why I homeschool and why I stay home. He gave an example. He said if I put a ten inch wide, 30 foot long board on the ground and told you I would give you $20 to walk across it, everyone would do it. Now if I took that same board and put it between two 100 foot tall buildings and gave you $20 to walk across most people wouldn’t. Now say your child was on the other building and the building was on fire. You would probably walk across the board regardless of whether he offered the money or not! The only thing that changed was your why. Our why for doing something needs to be so incredibly strong that it needs to be able to carry us through the hard times, the trying times, the bad times, etc.

What is your why? Why do you homeschool, stay home or even work? Why do you spend hours during the day doing what you do? Take the time and write it down. If you are more visual than create a board but no matter what know you why! When those though times arise look back at your why to remind you why you are doing it. Here are my why:

  1. Why I homeschool? I love kids and I enjoy spending my days with my own kids. I want to raise my kids up as disciples of Christ and I feel I have the best opportunity by keeping them home. I enjoy the flexibility and the time we have to walk through things as quickly or as slowly as they need. My kids are able to enjoy more free play and do special projects because we can get the basics out of the way. Training my kids to think through problems and not just accept what they are told, even by me is something I want to spend time fostering and don’t feel I could adequately do that by sending them to school.
  2. Why I do Shaklee? First off, I love the company and the science behind it. Many companies make claims but Shaklee has the science to back it up and not just any research but studies by UC Berkley among others and they are published in peer reviewed journals. Adam and I feel better when we take our supplements and so do our kids. We have not spent nearly as much money on doctors and pharmacy these past 6 months as we have in the past. We want to preserve our health and the environment. It also serves as a plan B  for income, if something happens to Adam.

He then went on to talk about how our values and beliefs need to line up with our actions. There are several home based businesses out there: Norwex, Mary Kay, Shaklee, Thirty one, and Trades of Hope to name a VERY few. Each one offers a something different. The person that is running their business needs to have their values align with the company or it will cause stress. Although I saw the business reference I had a HUGE ah-ha with my personal life. About 6 years ago, I was teaching full time and had two kids in daycare. My values said God first, then family, then work. My actions said work first, then family, then God. I was working all day, then I would get my kids from daycare, feed them, bathe them and put them to bed and then catch up on house work and groceries to do it all again the next day. I couldn’t put my all into my job and my family.

See now before we had kids working full time was not an issue at all and it didn’t really get in the way with other things. There is nothing wrong with being a working mom. Everyone has different priorities and that is ok. People also have different personalities. I couldn’t let all the house stuff go. Although looking back I should have hired a cleaning lady!

I personally could not “sell” bags or jewelry. There is nothing wrong with these items but they don’t fit in with my lifestyle. I don’t even really wear jewelry or bags!

I encourage you today to not just mentally think about your why. There is something powerful that happens when you write it down and even more powerful when you decide to tell others. It holds us accountable and makes it more real.

Why do you do what you do? Will you share it with us?

Jessica

Leave a Reply

