Got Salad?

I personally eat a lot of salad, especially in the summertime. It’s a nice light lunch and healthy but I tend to get sick of eating the same old thing over and over again. You’d think I could be creative but I’m not. So when I come across a nice easy salad recipe I get excited.

This is a recipe I made the other night because we have been doing day camp at church and are super busy this week. I’m not even sure where I found it but I was looking for something new to make.

image1

Grilled Chicken Strawberry Cobb Salad

So we cut up Romaine but I like to sometimes add spinach or kale to it. It has feta, peas, avocado, chicken, and strawberries on it. The dressing was super easy to make and tasted great. It had olive oil and lime juice (I didn’t have a lime so I left off the zest) and then some honey and salt and pepper. I even took some more salad for lunch the next day!

So to help us eat healthy throughout the week, we cut up fruits and veggies all in one day and eat them throughout the week. We always cut up a bunch of lettuce and keep it in a large bowl to make salads on the fly. We keep all the fixings on hand like dried cranberries, sunflower seeds, tomatoes, cucumbers, etc. All of it is cut on the same day and stored separately to make it easier to throw together. Sometimes Adam will make several salads at a time to just grab but this helps us to grab healthy things to snack on rather than crackers, cookies, etc.

What is your favorite salad recipe? Please share it with us! Or what are some of your tips to help you eat healthier?

Leave a Reply

