Seriously Amazing Dinner

So I’m not even sure where I found this recipe but I immediately knew that I needed to make it! Just the name called to me “Chicken Pesto Artichoke Naan Pizza”. It was a bit of a labor of love but if you know me that makes it all the more appealing. I love to make as many things from scratch as possible and I LOVE to try new things so this was a perfect fit. I will say I’m glad Adam, Hannah, and Maya were around to help me out because it really was all hands on deck.

I started by making my own Naan Bread. I took a class at Scott County Community College. The classes are very affordable and you watch a cooking demo and then go into the kitchen and get split into groups and make the recipes. It’s seriously so much fun! You even get to eat the food you make or pack some up and take it home. I haven’t done one in a very long time! Anyway this recipe came from the class I took. I put all my recipes in Pepperplate and I wrote about keeping all my recipes organized a while back.

Naan Bread- Makes 10-15 pieces


 INGREDIENTS
3 C flour
1 C yogurt- real plain-
1 tsp yeast
1 tsp sugar
1 pinch salt
2 Tbsp melted butter

 INSTRUCTIONS
  1. Add yeast and sugar to 1/2 cup of lukewarm water, mix well and set aside to rise for 10 minutes. Add salt, yeast mixture and the yogurt to the flour and mix well.
  2. Keep aside for 30 minutes to rise.
  3. Make about 10-15 balls out of the flour dough. Flatten them well and fry each side JUST one minute only. With a brush apply a little melted butter on both sides of the Naan while it is still hot.

IMG_4549

This is what my sticky dough looked like. I added flour as I worked with it because I made it a little too sticky. I think I added too much yogurt. It also didn’t rise much but still tasted great.

IMG_4559

You can see how I flattened out the dough. I get the griddle really hot over medium high heat and add the flattened dough and use tongs or whatever to work it as it cooks. I had Hannah make a short video to help show you how. Once it comes off the griddle I brush both sides with melted butter. Maya flattened the dough and I fried it one minute on each side. By the way, no need to use any spray or oil. I just used a non stick pan or he suggested those cast iron flat pans they use in Indian cooking.

So for the timing of this I started the Naan bread and while the yeast was fermenting and the dough rising I went ahead and prepped the rest of the ingredients. I grilled the chicken with homemade Emeril Essence  Seasoning. I make a bunch and keep it on hand.

IMG_4557

SoI chopped the chicken, artichokes, and olives (I use kalamata because I think they taste superior to black olives). I didn’t use fresh spices nor did I make my own pesto. I do have 3 kids so I don’t have time for everything!

Hannah took the Naan Bread and added the layer of pesto, chicken, olives, artichokes and then Italian Blend Cheese on top. We then sprinkled with the spices. This was pre grilling. Then, Adam was the grill master

IMG_4554

They tasted much better hot off the grill than the ones that sat a bit. Seriously this was such an awesome dinner. I would gladly make it again. The site I got the recipe from gives other ideas for making pizza on Naan bread as well. They do sell Naan bread at the store. Here in the Quad Cities I’m told there is an Indian Store in Cumberland Square over by Bettendorf Library and the Family Museum and I bet they might carry it! ENJOY!

Pizza

So I made this again and took a picture. This time the kids wanted theirs plain so we made two kinds. At the store I bought a sun-dried tomato pesto and I’m eager to try out some other toppings as well. This is my new Sunday dinner!

What would you top your Naan Bread with?

 

Jessica

Leave a Reply

