Lemon Cupcakes

I attended a gathering and someone had made these Lemon Cupcakes and they were amazing! They are a little more work than the average recipe but they are so well worth it! I’ve eaten them twice now but only made them once and now I can tell you all the mistakes I made so that you don’t make them!

To start I used paper muffin cups. She suggested foil since you are going to do a simple syrup but I didn’t have any issues with the paper cups. She suggested foil because the paper can become greasy.

So usually I skip the step if it says sift my ingredients but I did follow her directions and sift the flour and such together. I guess the more you sift the ingredients, the fluffier your cupcakes will be! Who knew? I didn’t! So here is what I used for sifting. It wasn’t very big but it got the job done.

Lemon1

You do add cornstarch to the flour but she explained that is because it makes the flour more like a cake flour without having to buy cake flour. I think it worked great!

Lemon3

The batter tasted oh so yummy!

I used my Pamper Chef scoop that I talked about back here. They truly are worth the investment. When I made these I over loaded the cups because I didn’t want to make another batch and that was a HUGE mistake. I ended up with flat muffin tops that were falling over. As you see a couple got stuck to the pan and then they detached from the cupcake.

Lemon 7

Once the cupcakes are baked and cooled I used a toothpick to poke holes in the tops of all of them. I then brushed them with the simple syrup I made. The lemons become candied in the process but I have never put them on my cupcakes. As you see I should have taken out the seeds and did not. I need to remake these with my friend Beth and I bet she would help me make them look good! She has way more patience then I when it comes to this stuff.

Lemon 5

Because I didn’t have any disposable piping bags and I didn’t want to clean one of the reusable ones, I used a large ziplock back to fill with frosting and then cut the end off and piped the cupcakes. I should have put the frosting in the fridge a bit to firm up. The frosting kinda of oozed almost.

Lemon 8

They aren’t the prettiest looking things but they taste great! Check out the recipe on the link at the very top and let me know how yours turn out.

Also as many of your know I am pretty health conscious and we do eat healthy 80-90% of the time but I do like to bake and try sweets. Of course I don’t eat all of these cupcakes… I’m not sure if my neighbors love me or hate me!

Jessica

Leave a Reply

