It’s not OK!

My daughter, Kayla, soon to be 5, was at swim lesson and had wandered away from her classmates and over to say hi to me and her sister. I prompted her to go back to her class and her teacher was looking for her! After class I pulled Kayla aside and told her she needed to go apologize to her teacher for not following the directions and for wandering off. Kayla did and her teacher responded telling her it was ok and that she was just concerned about her safety. Now I have responded in a similar way several hundreds of times over saying, “It’s OK.” It wasn’t until recently and with my husbands help that I changed my response.

It’s not OK! She certainly should not have walked off no matter what the reason was but see we don’t know what to say when someone says I’m sorry. My husband, who always has the brilliant ideas in the family, has taught our girls to say “I forgive you.” Even when I start to come up with a difference response he will prompt me to say “I forgive you.” Really no explanation or anything more is needed. Forgiveness does not equal forgetting but it does mean that there is reconciliation. Just like we go to Jesus with our sins and ask for forgiveness. God doesn’t tell us that our behavior was OK. The bible doesn’t say “Oh, don’t worry about it.” It was wrong. It was sinful and we deserve punishment but we are forgiven.

How do you respond when someone is asking for forgiveness?

Forgiven

I’m the one who held the nail
It was cold between my fingertips
I’ve hidden in the garden
I’ve denied You with my very lips

God, I fall down to my knees
With a hammer in my hand
You look at me, arms open

Forgiven, Forgiven
Child there is freedom from all of it
Say goodbye to every sin
You are forgiven

I’ve done things I wish I hadn’t done
I’ve seen things I wish I hadn’t seen
Just the thought of Your amazing grace
And I cry ”Jesus, forgive me!”

God, I fall down to my knees
With a hammer in my hand
You look at me, arms open

Forgiven, Forgiven
Child there is freedom from all of it
Say goodbye to every sin
You are forgiven

I could’ve been six feet under
I could’ve been lost forever
Yeah I should be in that fire
But now there’s fire inside of me
Here I am a dead man walking
No grave gonna hold God’s people
All the weight of all our evil
Lifted away forever free
Who could believe, who could believe?

Forgiven, Forgiven
You love me even when I don’t deserve it
Forgiven, I’m Forgiven
Jesus Your blood makes me innocent
So I will say goodbye to every sin
I am forgiven

I am forgiven

 

Leave a Reply

